Student Associations

We recall that Makerere University Medical School which had courses; Bachelors of Medicine and Surgery, Bachelor of Pharmacy, Bachelor of Dental Surgery, Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Bachelor of Medical Radiography, transformed to Makerere University College of Health Sciences in 2009 with constituent schools; School of Medicine, School of Biomedical Sciences, School of Public Health, School of Health Sciences. Recognize that the Makerere University Medical Students Association (MUMSA) Executive has been the sole representation to the Board of the College of Health sciences of all students of the College of Health Sciences since the launch of the College of Health Sciences. Committed to our well-being at the University which calls for a properly organized body to voice our dynamic needs and demands or whichever may be applicable.

Dedicated to preserve and promote all desirable aspects of our indigenous culture and striving to establish good will among the members of MakCHSA (Makerere University College of Health Science Students Association) and with any person or persons connected with MakCHSA in whatever manner or the other. Note that the MUMSA Executive acting under the provision of the 2006 reviewed constitution of Makerere University Medical Students Association and the advisement of the Board of the College of Health Sciences decided to form a Constitution Review Commission to debate and form a new constitution integrating all students in the College of Health Sciences with our views under one effective student leadership with a full understanding that we are a representation of the MakCHSA membership. New programs were introduces in the college which include BSc. Biomedical Engineering, BSc. Cytotechnology, BSc.Biomedical sciences, BSc. Speech and Language Therapy, BSc. Optometry and all these programs inclusive of all the others are now under on umbrella of MakCHSA.